webinar register page

Webinar banner
BLACK GRIEF MATTERS: an Emotional Justice reckoning & reimagining with Esther Armah Webinar
Tuesday, February 23
12:30 PM – 1:30 PM (EST-NY)
9:30 AM – 10:30 AM (PST-CA)
5:30 PM – 6:30 PM (GMT-Ghana)

BLACK GRIEF MATTERS: an Emotional Justice reckoning & reimagining
with Esther Armah, Executive Director, The Armah Institute of Emotional Justice
"BLACK GRIEF MATTERS: an Emotional Justice reckoning & reimagining" invites us to reckon with existing grief definitions, and expand them to engage the lived experience of global Black women rooted in histories of loss beyond the physical but connected with the state’s approach and treatment of black bodies, 2020’s converging pandemics and a history of a generational inheritance of loss from our legacies of enslavement and colonialism. What does it mean to see loss through the lens of global Black women, to center our emotionality and interiority? What does it mean to connect to honor the ceremony, community and comfort of global Black traditions around mourning, and from that loss and legacy create joy that centers our well-being? What happens when loss includes loss of empathy, of safety, of humanity – when there is an empathy exodus towards your black woman body? What can we create from that expanded knowing that heals?

Presented by Center for Black Visual Culture (CBVC)/Institute of African American Affairs (IAAA); Co-sponsored by 370J Project, Center for Media, Culture & History,
Center for Disability Studies and Africana Studies/Department of Social and Cultural Analysis-NYU

For more of our Spring 2021 programs please visit:
https://nyuiaaa.org/event-items/2021-spring-calendar/

Feb 23, 2021 12:30 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Jaïra Placide/NYU-IAAA & CBVC.