webinar register page

Global Brooklyn Book Launch - Americas
What do the fashionable food hot spots of Cape Town, Mumbai, Copenhagen, Rio de Janeiro, and Tel Aviv have in common? Despite all their differences, consumers in each major city are drawn to a similar atmosphere: rough wooden tables in postindustrial interiors lit by Edison bulbs.

It may look shabby and improvised but it is all carefully designed. It may romance the analog, but is made to be Instagrammed. This is "Global Brooklyn," a new transnational aesthetic explored in a new book edited by Professor of Food Studies Fabio Parasecoli and Polish Academy of Sciences researcher Mateusz Halawa.

Join Fabio and Mateusz, along with a panel of contributors to the new book Global Brooklyn, for a conversation and Q&A about the influence of design and materialities on the transformation of food cultures around the world.

Americas Launch
Wednesday, February 17
3:00 p.m. Los Angeles
6:00 p.m. New York
8:00 p.m. Rio de Janeiro

NYU Department of Nutrition and Food Studies provides reasonable accommodations to people with disabilities. Requests for accommodations for events and services should be submitted at least two weeks before the date of the accommodation need. Please email srw340@nyu.edu or call (212) 998-2173 for assistance.

Feb 17, 2021 06:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Samantha Widder (she/her).