webinar register page

Webinar banner
Recognizing Religion(s): The Cultural Dynamics of Religious Encounters and Interactions in Historical Perspective
"Situating World Religions in Modern Islam"

This is the first of a series of online seminars that will explore the historical, cultural, and geographical boundaries and contact points between the peoples of Europe, the Middle East, and other parts of the world, from the beginning of Islam to the near present. The series highlights recent and ongoing research in the interactions, habits, and concepts that facilitated ‘recognition’ of religion(s) and how these changed over time.

‘Recognition’ describes not merely the act of attentive observation and differentiation, but also implicit adaptation and appropriation, facilitated by real and imaginary encounters. We hope to contribute to knowledge of basic taxonomies and topographies of the contexts, forms, arenas, axes, and dimensions of recognition between cultural groups.

The series launches a joint initiative between NYU Abu Dhabi Humanities Research Fellowship for the Study of the Arab World program, the Institute for Religion and Critical Inquiry at Australian Catholic University, and the European Qur'an: Islamic Scripture in European Culture and Religion project at the University of Copenhagen (EuQu). The initiative seeks to develop a series of international workshops and publications re-examining the dynamics of cultural change and exchange in Islam, Judaism and Christianity, over the course of their entire shared history, to the present day.

Presenters:
Zvi Ben-Dor Benite - New York University
Esmat Elhalaby - University of California, Davis

Moderator:
Taneli Kukkonen - New York University Abu Dhabi

Timings:
Abu Dhabi 20:30 | Berlin 18:30 | London 17:30 | San Francisco 9:30 | Melbourne 3:30 (Oct 6) | Perth 00:30 (Oct 6)

*Open to the NYU Abu Dhabi community and by invitation
*This webinar will be recorded for institutional memory and a recording will be made available afterwards

Oct 5, 2020 08:30 PM in Dubai

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Humanities Research Fellowship for the Study of the Arab World.